The new UP BJP leader is expected to stick with the current group


Bhupendra Singh Chaudhary, who assumed leadership of the state branch of the Bharatiya Janata Party in August, is unlikely to reshuffle the core group of officeholders in the aftermath of the upcoming local municipal body elections.

According to sources, Chaudhary is likely to stick with the team that his predecessor, Uttar Pradesh minister Swatantra Dev Singh, selected for at least the next six months. Chaudhary won’t form a new team until after the party’s upcoming organisational elections, which will take place after the local body elections.

Chaudhary, a Jat leader from western Uttar Pradesh, succeeded Singh as state president of the BJP when the latter resigned in accordance with the party’s “one man, one post” stance. After taking over the BJP’s state chapter, Chaudhary also announced his resignation as the state’s minister for Panchayati Raj.

The five months of the outgoing state president Swatantra Dev Singh’s mandate that remain will be completed by the new state president first. Singh’s three-year term was set to expire in January of the following year. He had already finished the remaining term of his predecessor Mahendra Nath Pandey, a Union minister, when he was nominated BJP state president in July 2019. After the organisational elections in January 2020, Singh was formally chosen as the state unit chief, according to a party leader. Singh formed his state team in August 2020 with 16 state vice presidents, 8 general secretaries, 16 secretaries, a treasurer, and a co-treasurer.

The party will be busy with the urban local body elections, which may also be held later this year, so the organisational elections, which are anticipated to take place in December or January, may be postponed, according to another party senior.

The leader added that Chaudhary would stay with Singh’s squad, but he might make some adjustments in the days ahead. Changes could affect the positions currently held by Daya Shankar Singh and Arvind Kumar Sharma, vice presidents of the BJP’s UP unit, JPS Rathore, and Narendra Kashyap, state head of the BJP’s OBC Morcha. All of these individuals were sworn in as ministers in Yogi Adityanath’s new cabinet. According to its “one man, one post” philosophy, the party may remove them from office, he continued.

“The party’s next major task before the 2024 Lok Sabha elections is the urban local body polls. Election preparations for local bodies may be hampered if the party becomes preoccupied with holding organisational elections. The current team has experience with the Assembly elections in 2022. Therefore, it is anticipated that organisational elections will take place only after local body elections, according to a party official.