good news Another severe setback for Uddhav was when 66 of the 67 council members joined the Shinde faction



Uddhav Thackeray, the leader of the Shiv Sena, has now experienced a second defeat following his loss of the Maharashtra government. Shiv Sena’s control over the Thane Municipal Corporation has now also been lost. In actuality, 66 of the 67 Shiv Sena council members have sided with the Eknath Shinde group. This is perceived as a significant setback for the Shiv Sena. All 66 Shiv Sena council members allegedly met CM Eknath Shinde at his residence. The Thane Municipal Corporation is Maharashtra’s second-most significant and largest corporation after the Mumbai Municipal Corporation.

Thane is thought to be home to Eknath Shinde’s stronghold. He also used this to launch his career. In the 1997 elections for the Thane Municipal Corporation, he had been elected as a councillor. In 2001, he also served as the opposition leader in the Municipal House. He then was elected as a Thane corporation councillor for a second time in 2002. The Thane assembly seat had been won by Eknath Shinde in the 2004 election. Following this, he was elected in Thane’s Kopri Pachpakhadi seat in 2009, 2014, and 2019.

After the Maharashtra Legislative Council elections, Eknath Shinde had revolted. He arrived in Surat with the opposition Shiv Sena MLAs. They travelled from here to Guwahati. More Shiv Sena dissident MLAs also arrived at his camp from this location. The Shiv Sena’s split led to the downfall of the Uddhav-led administration. With the help of the BJP, Eknath Shinde eventually took over as the state’s chief minister. Devendra Fadnavis holds the office of Deputy Chief Minister concurrently. There are 50 MLAs in Eknath Shinde’s faction. Shiv Sena MLAs and Independents are among them.