Five candidates, including “Ramayani Chaiwala,” file papers on the first day of the vice presidential elections


Five individuals, one of whom goes by the name “Ramayani Chaiwala,” “on Tuesday, the opening day of the vice presidential election’s nomination procedure, filed documents. One candidate’s nomination papers were disqualified for omitting to submit a required document.

The deadline for submitting nominations is July 19. K Padmarajan of Salem district in Tamil Nadu, Pareshkumar Nanubhai Mulani of Ahmedabad, Hosmath Vijayanand of Bengaluru, and Naidugari Rajasekhar Srimukhalingam of Andhra Pradesh have all filed their nominations for the vice-presidential elections, according to information available with the office of the returning officer.

Anand Singh Khushwaha, commonly known as “Ramayani Chaiwala,” is a resident of Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh “, a candidate, submitted nomination papers at the Parliamentary returning officer’s office. Khushwaha’s documents were accepted, but he failed to provide the Rs 15,000 security deposit. Due to his failure to produce a certified copy of the candidate’s entry in the voters’ list of the Lok Sabha constituency in which they are registered to vote, Srimukhalingam’s papers were rejected.

On July 20, the four more nominees will be subject to review. Due to the lack of support from 20 proposers and 20 seconders, these nominations are expected to be denied. A nominee needs 20 MP proposers and 20 MP seconders in order to be officially nominated as a candidate for vice president.

The current vice president’s term ends on August 10 and the next vice president takes office on August 11. The election, in which all members of the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, including those who have been nominated, are allowed to vote, favours the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) by a wide margin.

The political parties have not yet announced who they would be running in the election. The vice president also serves as the Rajya Sabha’s chair.

There are 788 members in total from both houses of Parliament that make up the electoral college for the vice-presidential race. The Election Commission (EC) stated in a statement released on June 29 that because every elector is a member of Parliament, each MP’s vote will have the same value, one. Using a single transferable vote and secret ballots, the election is conducted in accordance with the proportional representation system.

The EC had warned that there is no such thing as a “open vote” and that it is against the law for candidates running for president or vice president to display their ballots to anyone under any circumstances. It also stated that parties could not order their MPs to vote a certain way. A candidate must have at least 20 electors sign their names as proposers and seconders on their nomination papers. Only one nomination document for a candidate may be signed by an elector as a proposer or seconder.

Four nomination papers are the most that one contender may submit. The election’s security deposit is Rs 15,000 The vice-presidential election is held in Parliament House, as opposed to the presidential polls, which are held in several locations because the elected MLAs, not the nominated members, also make up the electoral college.