Elections in 2022: BJP extends winning streak by winning five out of ten seats; defeat for SP in Uttar Pradesh and AAP in Punjab


The BJP won five of the ten constituencies that were up for byelection on June 23, extending its winning streak.

The BJP won three out of four assembly seats in Tripura and took over the Samajwadi Party strongholds of Rampur and Azamgarh Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh after the byelection results for three Lok Sabha and seven Assembly seats in five states and Delhi were released on Sunday.

Despite its outstanding result in the most recent state elections, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) lost the Sangrur parliamentary constituency in Punjab but won the Rajinder Nagar district in Delhi.

Akhilesh Yadav suffers a setback in Uttar Pradesh

The Samajwadi Party (SP) suffered a significant defeat when the BJP captured both of the Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh that were up for byelection on Thursday.

While the BJP’s Ghanshayam Singh Lodhi defeated the SP’s Asim Raja in the Rampur Lok Sabha byelection by a margin of more than 42,000 votes, the party’s Dinesh Lal Yadav “Nirahua” won the Azamgarh segment by a margin of more than 8,000 votes.

Lodhi received more than 3.67 lakh votes (51.96%), whereas Asim Raja received almost 3.23 lakh votes (46 per cent).

Dinesh Lal Yadav received more than 3,12,768 votes (34.39%) in Azamgarh, while Dharmendra Yadav of the SP received 3,04,089 (33.44%), and Shah Alam Alias Guddu Jamali of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) received 2,66,210 votes (29.27 per cent).

Yogi Adityanath, the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, Swatantra Dev Singh, Brajesh Pathak, and others celebrate the BJP’s victory in the by-elections on Sunday in Lucknow by flashing the victory sign. Punjab: SAD triumphs in Sangrur (PTI)

Simranjit Singh Mann of the Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) won the Sangrur segment by a margin of just over 5,000 votes, handing a significant setback to the AAP, which had recently won the assembly elections with an overwhelming majority.

Simranjit Singh Mann of the SAD received 2,53,154 votes (35.61%), while Gurmail Singh of the AAP received 2,47,332 votes (34.79 per cent).

CM Manik Saha triumphs in Tripura

The BJP won three of the four seats after Sunday’s counting for the byelections for Tripura’s four assembly seats, with Chief Minister Manik Saha winning in his first-ever direct election contest from the Town Bardowali constituency.

While the Congress party made a return by winning the Agartala seat, the BJP also won the Jubarajnagar and Surma seats. With no seats left, the CPI(M) and the TMC both failed.

Manik Saha received 17,181 votes, or 51.63% of the total votes cast, according to the news agency PTI.

Sudip Roy Barman, a candidate for Congress, received 3,163 more votes than the next-closest rival. 17,241 votes, or 43.46 percent of the total votes cast, went to him.

Malina Debnath won in Jubarajnagar by receiving 18,769 votes, while Swapna Das won the Surma constituency by a margin of 4,583 votes, receiving a total of 16,677 votes (42.34%). (51.83 per cent).

AAP keeps Rajinder Nagar in Delhi-NCR

The Aam Aadmi Party won the Rajinder Nagar byelections in Delhi by a margin of more than 11,000 votes, giving it yet another victory. Durgesh Pathak, a party candidate who has been with the AAP since its beginning, received 40319 votes overall (55.78%) in the byelection.

Speaking to the media, Pathak expressed gratitude to AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal for helping him win and pledged to see that his pledges, including those on improved water supply, were kept.

Workers for the AAP in New Delhi celebrate Durgesh Pathak’s victory in the Rajinder Nagar by-elections. Jharkhand: Assistance for Congress (PTI)

The Congress was finally successful in winning a significant Jharkhand constituency after a string of setbacks.

By more over 23,000 votes, Congress candidate Shilpi Neha Tirkey defeated BJP candidate Gangotri Kujur in Mandar. Tirkey received 95,486 votes (43.89%) but Kujur received only 71,796 votes (33 per cent).

Shilpi Neha Tirkey of the Congress and Gangotri Kujur of the BJP after the former won the Mandar Assembly constituency by-election on Sunday in Ranchi. (PTI)
With a large victory margin of 82,888 votes in Andhra Pradesh, the YSRCP

Mekapati Vikram Reddy of the incumbent YSR Congress Party won the Atmakur byelection in Andhra Pradesh with a significant victory margin of 82,888 votes. Reddy received 1,02,241 votes, compared to G Bharat Kumar Yadav, the BJP candidate, who received only 19,353 votes. N Obuleshu, a BSP candidate, received 4,904 votes.